Burg Hasegg, Hall Mint and the Mint Tower - HallDetails
Burg Hasegg was built shortly after the town received its charter to protect the town, the salt deposits (salt mining), trade on the River Inn and also to guard the old Roman road.
Under Duke Siegmund and Emperor Maximilian I, Burg Hasegg was enlarged to create a showpiece castle.
In 1477, Sigismund transferred the provincial mint from Merano to Hall.
Make the breathtaking ascent of the Mint Tower in Burg Hasegg. The tower, fully renovated in 2005, boasts:
* Direct access from Hall Mint Museum * 200-step climb to the top of the tower * Stunning views over the Inn valley and the Karwendel mountains * Guided tours with audioguides or by staff * Three tower stations with interactive information points * Option of ascent of tower combined with visit to Hall Mint Museum
This castle was first mentioned in records in 1268 and is one of the few Tyrolean castles, which remains in very good condition and is still lived in.
It is thought to have been built by the then ruling princes, the Bavarian counts of Andechs.
It later fell into the hands of the counts of Tyrol, before finally becoming the seat of the Trapp family in 1844.
Former summer residence of Hall’s House of Secular CanonessesDetails
(Faistenberg Summer Residence or Summer Palace; Magdalena Hall)
The Summer Residence and Garden Palace was built for Hall’s House of Secular Canonesses, founded by Queen and Archduchess Magdalena in 1569. The residence, dating back to 1715-1717, has well preserved frescoes by Kaspar Waldmann and is located in newly landscaped baroque style gardens. It is a special treat for art lovers. The residence was first opened to the public for guided tours in the summer (May-October) of 2011.
Castle ruin - ThaurDetails
The castle ruin is the symbol for Thaur and its three towers appear in Thaur's coat-of-arms.
During the Middle Ages, the castle was the largest fortified complex in the Inn valley.
The ruin can be visited at one's own risk.
Melans Castle - AbsamDetails
Family seat, Riccabona family, Absam, Schloss Melans – no visits
Kripp Castle - Absam Family seat, Kripp family, Absam, Stainerstrasse 4, no visits
Wohlgemutsheim Castle - BaumkirchenDetails
Wohlgemutsheim Castle at the north end of the village was built in 1474 by Paul Heuberger. The residence was acquired by Ferdinand II in 1587.
In 1622, like many other properties at this time, it was taken over by Hall Convent.
In 1957 the Don Bosco Sisters became the new owners and they added to the complex a kindergarten and a centre for prayer and contemplation. The castle may not be visited.
Thierburg - FritzensDetails
The idyllically located Thierburg is now in private ownership and has recently been renovated, returning it to its original architectural style.
Only the east wing hall, which was destroyed in the severe earthquake of 1669, was not rebuilt. The Thierburg may not be visited.
Schneeburg - MilsDetails
The Schneeburg residence was built in 1553 and then altered on a grand scale in 1581.
The Schneeburg is in private ownership and cannot be visited.
Aschach Castle - VoldersDetails
Schloss Aschach was first mentioned in records in 1334.
After a siege in 1413 it was burnt down. It was finally rebuilt in its present form in 1575.