SummerWinter
Menu

Walburga Schindl (1826-1872)

(poet from the "Biedermeier" era)

On the north side the "Zum Bogner" tavern there is a plaque with a marble image of Walpurga Schindl. Born in 1826, she was the daughter of the Bogner's landlord. She was commonly known as the "Bogner Burgele".

Her father died at the age of seven. Her uncle, the priest Sebastian Ruef, took care of her and had a great influence on her education. Sebastian Ruef was her mother's brother. Adolf Pichler described him as the cleverest man ever to have been born in the Tyrol during the 19th century. Walpurga spent some years with her uncle in Tobadill in the Stanz valley, where he worked as a trustee. He later became a chaplain in Hall mental asylum. His writings on the causes and consequences of mental illnesses were way ahead of his time and they are, to some extent, still applicable today. He was the person who awakened Walpurga's interest in literature. He introduced her to the works of Goethe, Platen, Rückert, and then she herself began to write.

Because of major domestic political turmoil, in 1848, the Imperial court in Vienna had to move to Innsbruck. Archduchess Sophie, the mother of Franz Josef, who ascended to the throne in the same year, often came to Absam for walks. There she got to know and admire the landlady at the Bogner and her 22-year-old daughter. The archduchess and her court retinue were enraptured by Walpurga's grace, humour and spiritual commonsense. A correspondence developed from this acquaintance between the Emperor's mother and the "Bogner Burgele" and it lasted eight years. In all of her letters to Walpurga, the archduchess expressed her love of the Tyrol and its "pious and devoted" inhabitants and also her desire to revisit this much-loved region again.

Walpurga married a surveyor and later moved with her husband to Kremnitz (at that time in Hungary, now Kremnica in the Czech Republic), where she died and was buried aged 46. She injured her foot and for the last seven years of her life was bed-ridden.


A selection of her literary works
(the influence of Rückert is unmistakeable in the following three-line stanzas):

Snowflakes
you've woken too early from your winter slumber
and then lain all frightened on the bare earth

Poisonous foxglove, warn
the bird that will drink thy dew
so death does not befall the tiny creature.

Poor mimosa,
a gentle touch makes you quiver so;
do you really know this pitiless world that well?

Source: Dr. Maria Riha

And this is how the story goes …

SommerWinter
Menü

Walburga Schindl (1826-1872)

(die Dichterin im Biedermeier)

An der Nordseite des Gasthauses "Zum Bogner" sehen wir eine Gedenktafel mit dem Marmorbildnis der Walpurga Schindl. Sie war die Tochter des damaligen Bognerwirtes und wurde 1826 geboren. Man nannte sie allgemein das "Bogner Burgele".

Mit sieben Jahren wurde sie Vaterwaise. Fortan kümmerte sich ihr geistlicher Onkel Sebastian Ruef um sie und nahm großen Einfluss auf ihre Erziehung. Sebastian Ruef war der Bruder ihrer Mutter. Adolf Pichler bezeichnete ihn als gescheitesten Mann, den Tirol im 19. Jahrhundert hervorgebracht hat. Walpurga verbrachte einige Jahre bei ihrem Onkel in Tobadill im Stanzertal, wo er als Kurator wirkte. Später war Ruef Irrenhauskaplan in Hall. Seine Schriften über Ursachen und Folgen von psychischen Krankheiten waren seiner Zeit weit voraus und haben z.T. noch heute Gültigkeit. Er war es, der Walpurga anregte, sich mit Literatur zu befassen. Sie las denn auch Goethe, Platen, Rückert u.a. und begann selbst zu schreiben.

Im Jahre 1848 musste sich der kaiserliche Hof infolge großer innenpolitischer Unruhen fluchtartig von Wien nach Innsbruck absetzen. Erzherzogin Sophie, die Mutter Franz Josefs, der noch im selben Jahr den Kaiserthron bestieg, kam auf ihren Spaziergängen öfters nach Absam. Dort lernte sie die Bognerwirtin und ihre damals 22-jährige Tochter kennen und schätzen. Die Erzherzogin und ihre Hofdamen waren entzückt von Walpurgas Anmut, Heiterkeit und geistlichem Mutterwitz. Es entwickelte sich aus dieser Bekanntschaft ein Briefwechsel zwischen der Kaiserinmutter und dem "Bogner Burgele", der acht Jahre anhielt. In jedem ihrer Briefe an Walpurga brachte die Erzherzogin ihre Liebe zu Tirol und seinen "frommen und getreuen" Bewohnern zum Ausdruck und auch ihre Sehnsucht, das geliebte Land wiederzusehen.

Walpurga heiratete einen Geometer und zog mit ihrem Gatten zuletzt nach Kremnitz (damals Ungarn, jetzt CSSR), wo sie, erst 46 Jahre alt, starb und begraben wurde. Nach einer Fußverletzung war sie die letzten sieben Jahre ans Bett gefesselt.


Eine Auslese aus ihrem literarischen Schaffen
(bei folgenden Ritornellen ist der Einfluss Rückerts unverkennbar):

Schneeflocken
ihr seid zu früh erwacht vom Winterschlafe
und seid dann ob der öden Flur erschrocken.

Giftiger Fingerhut, o warne
das Vöglein, das an deinem Tau will trinken,
daß nicht der Tod das kleine Tier umgarne.

Arme Mimose,
ein leis' Berühren macht dich schon erbeben;
kennst du die Welt so gut, die schonungslose?

Quellenangabe: Frau Dr. Maria Riha

Und es erzählt sich ...