SummerWinter
Menu

Thaur

633m above sea level, population 3,668

An unspoilt village, where agriculture still plays an important part – that is how this small settlement at the foot of the Nordkette mountain range would describe itself to the outside world today. Crib carvers, genuine Tyrolean Shrovetide customs, vegetable growers and committed amateur actors are responsible for creating throughout year a lively cultural scene and a commercial centre for the whole region.

Perhaps it's Thaur's Shrovetide "Muller" and their grand procession every four years, who ensure that the radishes and salads, etc. grow so well in Thaur. Everywhere in the Tyrol, discerning consumers look forward to the crisp, fresh vegetables that the growers in Thaur procure from the land throughout the summer. There's every reason why the region is also described as the "Tyrol's largest vegetable garden" – and the residents of Thaur are proud that their region was recently acclaimed by the Tyrolean Agricultural Produce Marketing Board for its "North Tyrolean Vegetables".

It is not just the masks of the Shrovetide figures that bear witness to the town's important carving traditions. Thaur crib carvers are well-known way beyond the province's border. The village has retained an ancient Easter tradition too. The Palm Procession on Palm Sunday is one of the finest in Austria.

Lovers of history and culture will be pleased to know that Thaur has plenty to offer them too. Included on their cultural itinerary should be the municipality's symbol, Thaur Castle, the Church of St Ulrich, the oldest, preserved church in the Tyrol and the idyllically located Romedi Chapel. In the summer months, the castle serves as an impressive backdrop for open-air performances by the Thaur Castle Players.

Thaur is Tyrol's largest vegetable-growing area

Thaur is packed with options for hikers and fans of culture

Tourist board Hall - Wattens region
Wallpachgasse 5
6060 Hall in Tirol
Tel.: +43 (0)5223 - 45544
Fax: +43 (0)5223 - 45544-20

office@hall-wattens.at
Map of Thaur

Useful and interesting information about Thaur

SommerWinter
Menü

Thaur

Der größte Gemüsegarten Tirols rund um Thaur

Wanderer und Kulturinteressierte bietet Thaur besondere Möglichkeiten

633 m Seehöhe, 3.778 Einwohner

Ein ursprüngliches Dorf, in dem die Landwirtschaft noch heute eine große Rolle spielt – so präsentiert sich Thaur, das ursprüngliche Tiroler Dorf am Fuße der Nordkette. Krippenschnitzer und echte Tiroler Fasnachtskultur, Gemüsebauern und engagierte Laienschauspieler machen das Dorf das ganze Jahr über zu einem lebendigen Kultur- und Wirtschaftszentrum der Region.

Vielleicht sind es ja die Thaurer Muller, die mit ihren großen Umzügen alle vier Jahre dafür sorgen, dass Radieschen, Salat und Co. in Thaur so gut wachsen. In ganz Tirol jedenfalls freut man sich auf die knackig-frischen Genüsse, mit denen die Thaurer Gemüsebauern den ganzen Sommer über das Land versorgen. Nicht umsonst nennt man die Region auch „Tirols größten Gemüsegarten“ – und die Thaurer sind stolz, dass ihr Gebiet als Genussregion „Nordtiroler Gemüse“ ausgezeichnet wurde.

Nicht nur die Masken der Fasnachtsfiguren zeugen von der großen Schnitztradition im Ort: Die Thaurer Krippenschnitzer sind weit über die Landesgrenzen hinaus bekannt. Auch in der Osterzeit hat sich in Thaur eine ganz besondere Tradition erhalten: Die Palmprozession am Palmsonntag ist eine der schönsten im ganzen Land.

Für Kulturinteressierte hat Thaur einiges zu bieten: Das Wahrzeichen der Gemeinde, das Thaurer Schloss, lädt genauso wie die Ulrichskirche, der älteste in Tirol erhaltene Kirchenbau oder das idyllisch gelegene Romedikirchl zu kulturellen Streifzügen. In den Sommermonaten dient das Schloss als beeindruckende Theaterkulisse für die Freilichtaufführungen der Thaurer Schlossspiele.

Tourismusverband Region Hall - Wattens
Unterer Stadtplatz 19
6060 Hall in Tirol
Tel.: +43 (0)5223 - 45544
Fax: +43 (0)5223 - 45544-20
office@hall-wattens.at

Thaur in der Region Hall-Wattens Tirol Österreich

Unterkünfte in Thaur

Aktuelle Veranstaltungen in Thaur